The Cold Hard Slap of Rejection


I felt it today… that slap. I submitted a short story to a competition, hoping to be placed in the top 5 so that it would be published on the website. Well, the winners have been announced.. and I’m not one of them. This has led me to deduce that if I’m not a winner I must be a loser *cries dramatically*, oh the heartache!! I was pleased with that little story.

The hardest part of this ‘rejection’ I’m suffering (yes, suffering) is that you don’t get any feedback about why your story wasn’t selected so it’s really hard to focus on an area of improvement. Out of pure spite (you know, because I’m suffering) I have not yet read the 5 winning stories, but I suspect that when I do I’ll be able to reflect on my own work and see what was missing. For the time being I’ve decided to do something that scares the bejeesus out of me – post it here and ask you what you think is wrong with it. I can take the criticism (I really can, I promise!), I’m just quite nervous because I’ve never let anyone I actually know read one of my stories.

The brief was simply to write something horror-based with a 5000 word maximum limit. If anyone has time to read it and comment I’d be most appreciative, I really need the feedback!

The Collector

2 Comments

Filed under Short Stories

2 responses to “The Cold Hard Slap of Rejection

  1. Well I enjoyed it…I’ve been thinking of submitting a few short stories of my own, how do you go about doing that? I’ve got a sci-fi and a horror story waiting to go!

    • I’m a member of Spinetinglers.co.uk and submission is easy on there. They are a horror specific site and it’s best to submit near the end of the month if you hope to have your story up the next month. The prizes are £100 for 1st place, £50 for 2nd, and I think it’s £25 for 3rd, 4th and 5th so it’s pretty cool!

      Thanks for taking time to read mine 😀 I always feel really scared about people reading things I write! I’m not sure where you can submit sci-fi, but there are loads of sites that run story contests and stuff so I’m sure you’ll find one 🙂

Leave a Reply

